ICNS Champion Award

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The ICNS Champion Award recognizes specific individual(s) with significant contribution to the CNS field (scientific/policy contributions), and in addition, if possible support of the ICNS Conference (organization/success).

Nominations for 2019 have closed.

Past Award Winners


Steve Bradford & Michael Standar

Standar Bradford ICNS Champion Award 2018

Steve Bradford, in the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA), and Michael Standar, in SESAR Joint Undertaking (SJU), have been leading the international harmonization activities of their respective organizations and have been instrumental at the discussion at global level and in particular in the ICAO. In particular, they have been key driving forces of the European and U.S. coordination plan activities involving the FAA and SJU and have been the visible faces behind the evolution of the NexGEN/SESAR “State of Harmonization” document.

More recently, they led the development of a joint EU/US A/G datalink road map which is expected to contribute in achieving the required harmonization and support the interoperability that airspace users are requesting. Both Steve and Michael have been instrumental in establishing a CNS vision and policies that guide the ongoing CNS activities at developments in the U.S., Europe as well as at ICAO level.


Diana Liang

Diana Liang

Diana Liang was the first recipient of the ICNS Champion Award in 2017. Diana has dedicated herself towards the advancement of the CNS tools that support the aviation community’s needs of the future. She has successfully provided direction on the development and fielding of many of the FAA’s NextGen programs and enabling technologies.