Best Paper Competition Winners Announced for ICNS 2013

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Congratulations to the winners for the ICNS Conference 2013 Best Paper Competitions in the student and professional categories.

Best Student Paper Competition (Chaired by Dr. Lance Sherry, George Mason University)


  • 1st Place: Jindong Xie, Lin Bai, Jun Zhang, Beihang University, Beijing, China; “Dual Priority SDMA in Aeronautical Communications”
  • Honorable Mention: Asaad Kaadan, Dayong Zhou, Hazem H. Refai, Peter G. LoPresti, University of Oklahoma; “Modeling of Aerial-to-Aerial Short-Distance Free-Space Optical Links”

Operations and Analysis

  • 1st Place: Christian Hanses, German Aerospace Center (DLR), Braunschweig, Germany; “An Initial Safety Concept for Segmented Independent Parallel Approaches”
  • Honorable Mention: Tao Li, Virginia Tech; “Modeling the Impact of Fuel Prices on the Utilization of Piston Engine Aircraft”

Best Professional Paper Competition (Chaired by Mr. Thomas Redling, L-3 Communications, ComCept Division)

  • 1st Place: Timothy P. Waldron and Andrew T. Ford, The Saab Sensis Corporation, East Syracuse, NY; and Sherry Borener, FAA Office of Aviation Safety, Washington, DC; “Quantifying Collision Potential in Airport Surface Movement”
  • 2nd Place: Ralf H. Mayer, Matthew R. Pollock, Jonathan T. Schwalbe, Graham K. Glover, Rémi L. Gottheil, and Dennis J. Zondervan, Center for Advanced Aviation System Development (CAASD), The MITRE Corporation, McLean, VA; “Toward a Performance-Based NAS: Airports for Potential Application Of PBN-Enabled Departure Separation Standards”
  • 3rd Place: David W. Matolak and Ruoyu Sun, Department of Electrical Engineering, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC; “Air-Ground Channel Measurements & Modeling for UAS”